Protein Society Awards Nominations

The Protein Society Awards recognize excellence across the diverse disciplines that collectively advance our understanding of proteins: their structure, function, design, and application. The Awards honor researchers who have distinguished themselves with significant achievements in protein research and those who have made outstanding contributions in leadership, teaching, and service. Nominations can be submitted by members and non-members, and are awarded by The Protein Society Executive Council. Recipients are honored at the Annual Protein Society Symposium. Nominations are due by or on October 31, 2023Nominations should be made for a specific award, but the awards committee reserves the right to consider a nomination under a different category. 



  1. Nominators do not have to be TPS members. 
  2. TPS Council members may not submit nominations, nor provide letters of support.


  1. Nominees do not need to be TPS members. 
  2. Any nominee who has won an award from TPS in the past 10 years is not eligible for nomination.
  3. TPS council members are not eligible for nomination during their term or for 3 years subsequent to serving.
  4. Apart from the Young Investigator Award, there are no age or gender requirements for any of the awards. TPS encourages nominations of individuals from diverse backgrounds. The Young Investigator award nominations are accepted only for nominees within 8 years of starting an independent career (2016 and after).
  5. Nominations are carried over for 1 year. 

Multiple nominations

  1. Nominators can nominate more than one individual.
  2. An individual may be nominated by different nominators for any number of awards.
  3. If two independent nominators nominate the same person for the same award, the nominations will be combined into one.


  1. Nominee's name, professional title, affiliation, e-mail addresses and phone number.
  2. Nominee's Curriculum Vitae (limited to five pages) to include achievements on which the nomination is based.
  3. Nominating statement (limit 200 words). Short summary of the nominee’s achievements on which the nomination is based. Please align your comments with the award criteria. This is an important component of the nomination packet.
  4. Nominating letter, including name and signature, professional title, affiliation, postal and e-mail address and phone number. The nominating letter should elaborate on the nominating statement and provide the context for, and specific details about, the nominee’s contributions. The letter should explain why the nominee is deserving of the award for which they are being nominated. Please limit the nominating letter to no more than three pages.
  5. One letter of support. The nominator should arrange for one or more letters seconding the nomination. Supporting letters should be limited to no more than three pages each. Letters of support contributors do not need to be TPS members.

Marie Maynard Daly Award

New - The Protein Society proudly announces its 8th annual award: The Marie Maynard Daly Award. This award recognizes Dr. Daly, who conducted pioneering studies of protein synthesis, histone biochemistry, and the relationships between hypertension, high cholesterol, and atherosclerosis. Dr. Daly was a trailblazer as the first black woman in the United States to receive a Ph.D. in chemistry (Columbia University); she also actively promoted diversification in STEM.

Specific Requirement: The Marie Maynard Daly Award will recognize groundbreaking research at the interface between protein science and human health. 

Carl Brändén Award

In the tradition of Carl Brändén, pioneer in structural biology, co-author of the seminal text Introduction to Protein Structure, and leader of the world-class synchrotron facility at Grenoble, the Carl Brändén Award, sponsored by Rigaku Corporation, honors an outstanding protein scientist who has also made exceptional contributions in the areas of education and/or service.

Specific Requirement: Sustained, high-impact research contributions to the field and additional contributions to education/service.

Christian B. Anfinsen Award

Established in 1996 and named for Nobel laureate Christian Boehmer Anfinsen, whose research on the structure and function of enzyme proteins contributed to the general acceptance of the “thermodynamic hypothesis,” The Christian B. Anfinsen Award recognizes significant technological achievements and/or methodological advancements in protein research.

Specific Requirement: Technological achievement or significant methodological advances.

Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award

Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin was a founder of protein crystallography as well as a Nobel laureate. The Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award, supported by a grant from Genentech, a member of the Roche Group, is granted in recognition of exceptional contributions in protein science which profoundly influence our understanding of biology.

Specific Requirement: Profound influence on our understanding of biology.

Emil Thomas Kaiser Award

In 2002, The Protein Society established The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award. Dr. Kaiser’s highly original research, including the profoundly significant discovery of the necessity amphiphilic helices to biological life, can be said to have introduced a new field of chemistry. In this tradition, The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award recognizes a recent, highly significant contribution in applying chemistry to the study of proteins. 

Specific Requirement: Application of chemistry to the study of proteins.

Hans Neurath Award

Hans Neurath played an integral role in the early life of the Society, as a founding member and later -at age 81- as founding editor of Protein Science. His contributions to the early success of the Society were surpassed only by his larger contributions to the field of biochemistry and our early understanding of proteins.

Reflective of his prolific contributions to the understanding of the physical chemistry of proteins, The Hans Neurath Award, sponsored by the Hans Neurath Foundation, seeks to honor individuals who have made a recent contribution of exceptional merit to basic protein research.

Specific Requirement: A recent contribution of unusual merit to basic protein science.

Stein & Moore Award

The Stein and Moore Award, named for Nobel laureates Dr. William Stein and Dr. Stanford Moore, venerates their contribution to understanding the connection between chemical structure and catalytic activity of the active center of the ribonuclease molecule. Established in 1986, the Stein and Moore Award is given to recognize eminent leaders in protein science who have made sustained high impact research contributions to the field.

Specific Requirement: Sustained, high-impact research contributions to the field.


Protein Science Young Investigator Award

The Protein Science Young Investigator Award, sponsored by Wiley, formerly known as The Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award, recognizes a scientist in the first 8 years of an independent career who has made an important contribution to the study of proteins.*

*With allowances for familial leave or other exigent circumstance.

Specific Requirement: Within 8 years of starting an independent career.

Incomplete nominations will not be considered. For questions or assistance, please e-mail us at [email protected].